Majority Whip

Primary tabs

"Radio has helped to make people fixated on one particular kind of a sound and one particular kind of a style. And, a lot of people today, since music education is virtually nonexistent in public schools, they don't even know what they've been missing in terms of music from other cultures, music from America from other periods, (and) different styles. You may not like it all, but if you don't even know that it exists, how are you going to make up your mind?" - Frank Zappa

Next On Air

Saturday, September 5, 2015 - 6:30pm to 9:00pm

Recently Played

These times are shown in Pacific time

8:56pm Diamanda Galas - "Consecration" - Plague Mass (Mute)
8:51pm Dinah Washington - "Backwater Blues" - The Jazz Sides (Mercury)
8:45pm Charlie Parker - "Salt Peanuts" - Jazz At Massey Hall (Debut)
8:39pm Michael Gibbs & The NDR Big Band - "Spanish Sketch" - In My View (Cuneiform)
8:33pm Prince Far I - "Nuclear Weapn" - Sherwood at the Controls Volume 1: 1979-1984 (On-U Sound)
8:29pm Velvet Underground - "Hey Mr. Rain Version 1" - Another View (Verve)
8:25pm Nordic Affect - "Clockworking" - Clockworking (Sono Luminus)
8:16pm Lou Harrison - "Music for Violin pt III Allegro Moderato" - Drums Along the Pacific (New Albion)
8:15pm Cecil Taylor - "Song" - In Transition (Blue Note)
8:09pm Pat Jordache - "Salt on the Fields" - Future Songs (Constellation)
8:06pm Gardens & Villa - "Alone in the City" - Music for Dogs (Secretly Canadian)
8:03pm Belly - "Every Word" - Star (4AD)
7:59pm Cocteau Twins - "A Kissed Out Red Floatboat" - Blue Bell Knoll (4AD)
7:52pm Ka & Preservation - "Day 70" - Days with Dr. Yen Lo (Pavlov Institute)
7:49pm Lil Kim - "How Many Licks" - How Many Licks (Atlantic)
7:46pm L'orange & Kool Keith - "Dr. Bipolar" - Time? Astonishing! (Mello Music Group)
7:43pm Dub Diablo - "Dream Makers" - Dub Diablo (Dis Joint)
7:38pm U-Ziq - "Johnny Mastrich" - Bilious Paths (Planet Mu)
7:32pm Kamasi Washington - "Re Run Home" - The Epic (Brainfeeder)
7:27pm The Jackson 5 - "Feelin Alright" - Stand (Pickwick)
7:25pm The Caravans - "It's Jesus In Me" - Good News (New Cross)
7:17pm Blue Oyster Cult - "Hot Rails to Hell" - Tyranny and Mutation (Columbia)
7:14pm Algiers - "Black Eunuch" - Algiers (Matador)
7:11pm Space Merchants - "Beatniks" - Space Merchants (Aqualamb)
7:08pm Brian Jonestown Massacre - "Caress" - Take It From The Man (Bomp)
7:05pm Radiators - "Johnny Jukebox" - Ghostown (Chiswick)
6:59pm Brenda Lee - "Bigelow 6-200" - Rockabilly Classics (MCA)
6:57pm Jimmy Newman - "Let's Stay Together" - Jimmy Newman 7 & Al Terry (Flyright)
6:53pm Angela Easterling - "Arkansas Murder Ballad" - Common Law Wife (De L'Est Music)
6:50pm Jackson C. Frank - "Jimmy Clay" - The Complete Recordings (Ba Da Bing)
6:40pm Simon Shaheen - "Al Hinna" - The Music of Mohamed Abdel Wahab (Axiom)
6:35pm Iswani Ismail - "Nelayan" - Folk and Pop Songs of Sumatra (Sublime Frequencies)
8:56pm Pere Ubu - "Final Solution" - Terminal Tower (Twin Tone)
8:53pm Lotus Eaters - "German Girl" - First Picture of You (BBC)
8:50pm Native Tongue - "Carving the Future From Soap" - Native Tongue (Detente)
8:46pm Gardens & Villa - "Fixations" - Music for Dogs (Secretly Canadian)
8:39pm Herandez Hideaway - "Bumblebee Sirba" - Klezmerotica Sweethearts (Round Whirled)
8:36pm Aavikko - "Boa" - Oriental Baby (Humppa)
8:33pm Lifted - "Total Care Zero" - 1 (Panic Button)
8:29pm Karlheinz Stockhausen - "Kontakte (James Tenney Piano, William Winant Percussion)" - Kontakte (Ecstatic Peace!)
8:26pm Jumpel - "Arles" - Europa (Hidden Shoal)
8:23pm Derek Piotr - "There Shall Be a New Earth" - Bahar (Bit Phalanx)
8:19pm Nobody - "Outbreak" - Soulmates (Ubiquity)
8:15pm Genius/GZA - "Liquid Swords" - Liquid Swords Single (Geffen)
8:12pm Tori Amos - "Raspberry Swirl" - From the Choirgirl Hotel (Atlantic)
8:09pm Bangles - "All About You" - All Over the Place (Columbia)
8:06pm Archies - "Nursery Rhyme" - Jingle Jangle (Kirshner)
8:03pm Dale Hawkins - "Number Nine Train" - Daredevil (Norton)
8:00pm John Lee Hooker - "I Just Don't Know" - "That's Where It's At" (Stax)
7:53pm David Lang - "Dance" - Are You Experienced? (CRI)